Authors Community - a division of Common Sense Marketing Strategies

UPCOMING EVENTS!

Realstuff webinar transparent

 

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!

 

A Fly on a Wall in a Publishing House

presented by David Fessenden, Literary Agent and Publisher

Purchase viewing shortly

$25 to Members and $35 to non-members

So you’d rather go the traditional publishing route with all the trimmings that a publishing house can offer. It isn’t as easy as mailing (or emailing) your manuscript. There’s a multitude of things to consider and to do before licking that stamp or clicking Send.

David Fessenden, who has tremendous expertise in the publishing industry, will give you an in depth guided tour on what steps to take that will give you a better chance for traditional publishing than the slush pile could ever give you. Some publishers don’t have slush piles anymore. So, what then?

More Info . . . 

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!

Start Up Guide for Online Christian Authors

presented by Kate Motaung
October 11, 2017 at 1pm Central Time

$25 to Members and $35 to non-members

More Information . . . coming soon!

 

Kate Motaung is a writer, editor, and virtual assistant who loves to help others refine their messages and reach their target audience. Kate enjoys partnering with other writers to craft engaging, high quality content for readers to enjoy.

You may contact Kate through our admin@commonsensemarketingstrategies.com email address.

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!

Are You a Hobby Writer or an Author?

Presented by Tom Blubaugh

October 18, 2pm Central Time

How strange would it be to suddenly see a building sprout in a community and remain vacant-no advertising, no stock, no staff, just a name. Maybe not even the a sign with the name of the owner-just a business name that no one can identify. Crazy, right? 

FREE to Members (Password in Forum) – Click here to sign up!
Not a member but want the FREE Webinar? Join our Authors Community first, then come back here and register as a member.

Non-Members - pay $20.


Many authors write a book or books without branding their name, building social media relationships, developing their target market, growing an email list, becoming transparent through blog articles, making their website sticky, and placing their books on Amazon without doing any serious promotion.

Tom Blubaugh will discuss the importance of authors understanding the difference between having a hobby and managing a business.

  • You are either a hobby writer or an author.
  • How you can know which one you are.
  • Are you in or out of your zone?
  • ‘M’ is the word.
  • Perspective is everything.
  • Knowing the answer is key.
  • 1, 2, or 3?
  • The strategy.

 

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!

So, You Have a Book?

presented by Sarah Tun, Writing Coach

Coming Soon!

$25 to Members and $35 to non-members

 

 

Sarah Tun

Writing Coach, Audio Book Recorder, Manuscript Critique

There’s a proverb that reads:

“Do you see a man who excels in his work?
He will stand before kings;
He will not stand before unknown men.” (Proverbs 22:29)

When I tell people I’m an author, many say, “I’ve got a book to write…”

I can tell because you are reading this that you've got a book to write. Isn’t now the time to write it?

You may contact Sarah through our admin@commonsensemarketingstrategies.com email address.

PAST EVENTS!

Realstuff webinar transparent

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!

Using the Ripple Effect: Promoting Yourself and Your Books

Click Here to Purchase Viewing.

 You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make him drink. The same could be said of book consumers. That’s when the art of persuasion becomes a delightful asset.

Don’t like marketing? But you are passionate about your book, right?

Then maybe you should zero in on one aspect of marketing rather than the big picture.

. . . More Info

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!

More Than Just a Website, How to Make the Internet Work For You - Your Virtual Assistant!

Click Here to View Recorded Session

I know I need a website, but then what?  How do I build one?  What do I need to include?  Should I do it myself or hire someone?  How do I get listed by Google?  Isn't Facebook or Amazon enough?  What's the latest trend?

So, much to learn and so little time!  Spend 30 minutes learning the basics of building a solid, Internet presence with Tamy Bond, our resident Internet Specialist and Web Designer.

More Info . . . 

A REAL STUFF Course!
How to Write Irresistible Fiction and Non-Fiction

4-week interactive online course with Writer's Digest author, Jeff Gerke.

Click Here to Purchase Viewing   Members receive a discount!  Become a member.

This course is a personal instruction by Jeff Gerke of his latest book The Irresistible Novel.

Jeff Gerke is an accomplished author, book cover designer, publisher, editor, and dad.

Writing dynamically applies to all markets, just as speaking dynamically keeps audiences awake. "Bueller? Bueller?" Learning how to write irresistible narrative will impact fiction and non-fiction writing, social media writing, public speaking, and numerous other types of writing. His latest book, The Irresistible Novel published by  Writer's Digest, is the background for this exciting class.

But the class isn't just for writing novels. It's for anyone who writes.  For the best experience, you may purchase the book here.

 

More Info . . . 

real stuff workshop transparent

Crafting Memorable Dialogue

Click Here to Purchase Viewing   Members receive a discount!  Become a member.

We’ve all slogged through novels with boring, predictable, or chit-chat dialogue. In many genres, dialogue makes up half of the novel, so dialogue can make or break your bond with readers. You can learn how to craft believable, quotable dialogue, by discovering when to and when not to use dialogue, by infusing the appropriate level of conflict for each scene, and by individualizing characters through 12 key speech markers.

About the Instructor:
joni m fisher - authorAuthor Joni M. Fisher is a career journalist and private pilot. She is a PRO member of Romance Writers of America, and active in the Tampa Area Romance Authors and the Kiss of Death Chapters. She has conducted her dialogue workshop since 2010 for various writing groups and organizations. Author of the Compass Crimes Series, she is hard at work on book three.

More Info . . . 

Why should you pay for a webinar when so many are offering free webinars?

Sure, you could probably find free webinars out there. But here's the difference between them and us: After you take the free training, which will be an introduction to a subject, they'll keep trying to Up-sell you to the “REAL" stuff--which usually costs a bundle.

Our webinar is the real stuff. We won't be emailing you with endless offers to get the inside scoop!  And our presenters won't hold back the best information, saving it for another webinar or someone who pays more.

You'll instantly get all they can cram into one hour--their best tips, hints, and safeguards for you to be successful. 

You only pay for the webinar once--and get ALL the information.

Realstuff webinar transparent

 

 

 

Building Your Platform from the Ground Up: Go from Zero to Pro

#REALSTUFFWEBINAR!    

Click Here to Purchase Viewing   Members receive a discount!  Become a member.

Linore BuckardLinore Burkard, an accomplished author, is speaking live on how authors can build their platforms. It is an hour long webinar packed with great information that will fit your needs as an author (and/or vendor). You will learn practical and easily followed steps to increase your web presence.
 
About the Instructor:
 
Linore Rose Burkard is best known for her Inspirational Regency Romance Series, which whisks readers back in time to early 19th century England. Eye-popping detail and heart-warming adventure are par for the course in her books. Fans of romance in the tradition of Austen and Heyer (such as Pride & Prejudice, Cotillion, and even My Fair Lady), enjoy meeting Linore's feisty heroines and dashing heroes.

testimonials2

I am glad I participated in today’s webinar. I liked how Linore used the idea of building a wall with a foundation as a way to conceptualize one’s platform. It helped me to see where I am doing things well and where my weak areas are. I thought Linore was easy to understand, took enough time with each point, and developed her concepts very nicely. In fact, I would love to have her speak on how to launch a book.

~Kerry McAvoy, Author
 
Linore did great! She has a good voice for doing webinars. She confirmed a lot of what I've heard/thought. I've felt so much like I've been just "casting a net." I do have a website, but I do need to utilize it and also get a newsletter going. Now that's something else I could use help with! I thought she was well-organized and did give helpful information. And it was interesting. I'd never seen platform and brand put together quite that way before. I hope it was profitable for you to do.

~Kathy Rouser
 
I can't thank you enough for your webinar and for getting me to be more active in promoting my work. I appreciate very much the ... search tips for Facebook. Just this week I've become part of two baking groups: Pie Nation and Food52 cookbook club. I'll be posting regularly as well as on my baking blog.  Your webinar was just the jump start I needed!

Greg Patent  thebakingwizard.com
 
What a blessing! Thank you for sharing your writing journey with us. The story of how the editor at Harvest House discovered you (because of your web presence)and which led to your multi-book contract SO inspired me. It's like a writing "Cinderella story"! I'm sure other writers would be inspired by it as well. Thank you for being truly inspirational. Blessings!
Tammy Ector Fisse
 
WOW, thank you!!! I feel like I learned more (from you) than I have in months. I have a new book coming out in May and am putting this in my file and will start working on contacts, etc..What I love is that you gave practical and tangible steps!!!!!!! I feel like I have been working through a murky fog in the realm of marketing!! Thank you for clearing some of it away! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!"
Becky Harling, International Author/Speaker
 
Linore, your mini-makeover info is amazing. I learned a bunch! Thank you for being willing to share your expertise. Blessings.
Linda Clare, Author, Speaker, Coach
 
Linore, thank you so much for the marketing makeover. It's amazing! I'm just now printing it out to highlight and make notes on. I don't want to overlook a single word. I appreciate you taking the time to put this together and in such clear and executable steps. Thank you, thank you!!! Blessings.
Susy Flory, NY Times bestselling Author, Speaker, Conference Director
 
In my new venture, The Writing Mechanic Publishing Collective, I need to be able to assist my authors in setting up their own platforms in order to sell their books and build readership. Linore's webinar was a fantastic overview of information in that vein. She used a brilliant metaphor to explain all of the elements to an author platform, and I feel confident moving forward into my new venture with her basic plan for building an author platform in mind.
Kathrin Herr, The Writing Mechanic  thewritingmechanic.net
 
Need more information? Click here.